An AutoEdit is an automatically approved edit. Such an edit does not go to a vote: that is, the change is immediately applied, and the Edit is marked as approved (using an Autoedit notice). The EditType page details which edits are applied as AutoEdits. Basically, EditType
s that do not result in a possible LossOfData are AutoEdit
s for AutoEditor
s (i.e. most edits apart from RemoveReleaseEdit, MergeReleasesEdit, MergeArtistsEdit etc.)
The only Edits which are automatically applied for users with normal priviledges are:
- AddTRMsEdit - Submitting TRMs with the ClassicTagger.
- AddPUIDsEdit - Submitting PUIDs with the PicardTagger.
- AddDiscIDEdit - By looking up a unknown disc with the ClassicTagger or PicardTagger.
- Name or Title edits that only change the case or accents.
While it may seem surprising that RemoveArtistEdit is an AutoEdit, MusicBrainz only allows artists with no releases, relationships and NonAlbumTracks associated with them to be removed, so the only data that might be lost are the artist name and sortname, and its aliases.