Difference between revisions of "Destructive Edit"

From MusicBrainz Wiki
m (linkify "merge")
(adding bit about auto-edits)
Line 1: Line 1:
The term "destructive edit" refers to an [[Edit|edit]] that cannot easily be undone and that involves loss of (possibly good) data.
+
The term "destructive edit" refers to an [[Edit|edit]] that cannot easily be undone/reverted and that involves loss of (possibly good) data.
 +
 
 +
Edits that are considered "destructive" are never [[Edit#Auto-edits|auto-edits]]; they always go into the [[Introduction_to_Voting|voting queue]] so that they can get extra scrutiny.
  
 
While [[Merge|merges]] and deletions are both destructive, merges are considered ''less'' destructive. The general rule is [[Merge Rather Than  Delete]], because merges ''redirect'' [[MBID]]s rather than ''destroy'' them.
 
While [[Merge|merges]] and deletions are both destructive, merges are considered ''less'' destructive. The general rule is [[Merge Rather Than  Delete]], because merges ''redirect'' [[MBID]]s rather than ''destroy'' them.

Revision as of 21:59, 12 June 2017

The term "destructive edit" refers to an edit that cannot easily be undone/reverted and that involves loss of (possibly good) data.

Edits that are considered "destructive" are never auto-edits; they always go into the voting queue so that they can get extra scrutiny.

While merges and deletions are both destructive, merges are considered less destructive. The general rule is Merge Rather Than Delete, because merges redirect MBIDs rather than destroy them.