Difference between revisions of "Destructive Edit"

From MusicBrainz Wiki
(add categories)
(add note that URL removals are handled differently)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
 
The term "destructive edit" refers to an [[Edit|edit]] that cannot easily be undone/reverted and that involves loss of (possibly good) data.
 
The term "destructive edit" refers to an [[Edit|edit]] that cannot easily be undone/reverted and that involves loss of (possibly good) data.
  
Edits that are considered "destructive" are never [[Edit#Auto-edits|auto-edits]]; they always go into the [[Introduction_to_Voting|voting queue]] so that they can get extra scrutiny.
+
Edits that are considered "destructive" are never [[Edit#Auto-edits|auto-edits]]; they always go into the [[Introduction_to_Voting|voting queue]] (and can't be approved) so that they can get extra scrutiny.<ref>URL removals are handled differently, they can be approved and are auto-edits by default for [[Auto-Editor]]s</ref>
  
 
While [[Merge|merges]] and deletions are both destructive, merges are considered ''less'' destructive. The general rule is [[Merge Rather Than  Delete]], because merges ''redirect'' [[MBID]]s rather than ''destroy'' them.
 
While [[Merge|merges]] and deletions are both destructive, merges are considered ''less'' destructive. The general rule is [[Merge Rather Than  Delete]], because merges ''redirect'' [[MBID]]s rather than ''destroy'' them.
 +
 +
== Notes ==
 +
 +
<references/>
  
 
[[Category:Editing]] [[Category:Terminology]]
 
[[Category:Editing]] [[Category:Terminology]]

Latest revision as of 20:45, 27 April 2020

The term "destructive edit" refers to an edit that cannot easily be undone/reverted and that involves loss of (possibly good) data.

Edits that are considered "destructive" are never auto-edits; they always go into the voting queue (and can't be approved) so that they can get extra scrutiny.[1]

While merges and deletions are both destructive, merges are considered less destructive. The general rule is Merge Rather Than Delete, because merges redirect MBIDs rather than destroy them.

Notes

  1. URL removals are handled differently, they can be approved and are auto-edits by default for Auto-Editors