Difference between revisions of "Merge Rather Than Delete"

From MusicBrainz Wiki
(Added DeleteRatherThanMerge: http://musicbrainz.org/showmod.html?modid=4418049 (Imported from MoinMoin))
(TerminologyChange (Imported from MoinMoin))
Line 1: Line 1:
 
=Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums=
 
=Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums=
  
It's usually best to [[Merge Albums|MergeAlbums]] to deal with [[Duplicate Album|DuplicateAlbum]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s instead of doing a [[Remove Album|RemoveAlbum]].  
+
It's usually best to enter [[Merge Releases Edit|MergeReleasesEdit]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s to deal with [[Duplicate Release|DuplicateRelease]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s instead of entering [[Remove Release Edit|RemoveReleaseEdit]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s.  
  
Deleting albums has two kinds of bad effects on the database:  
+
Deleting releases has two kinds of bad effects on the database:  
 
* The [[UUID]]s that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to [[MusicBrainz]] from other sites) will become invalid when the item is deleted. When merging it, however, the old UUIDs will forward to the new item. '''Note:''' Not yet implemented, see ticket [[Ticket:912|912]]  
 
* The [[UUID]]s that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to [[MusicBrainz]] from other sites) will become invalid when the item is deleted. When merging it, however, the old UUIDs will forward to the new item. '''Note:''' Not yet implemented, see ticket [[Ticket:912|912]]  
* Even if there's no useful data ([[Disc ID|DiscID]]s, [[TRM]]s, [[Releases]]) attached to the album, it's possible that someone may [[Add TR Ms|AddTRMs]], [[Add Disc ID|AddDiscID]] or [[Edit Album Releases|EditAlbumReleases]] before your [[Remove Album|RemoveAlbum]] edit is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost.  
+
* Even if there's no useful data ([[Disc ID|DiscID]]s, [[TRM]]s, [[Release Event|ReleaseEvent]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s) attached to the release, it's possible that someone may [[Add TR Ms|AddTRMs]], [[Add Disc ID|AddDiscID]] or [[Edit Album Releases|EditAlbumReleases]] before your [[Remove Release Edit|RemoveReleaseEdit]] is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost.  
  
This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since [[Remove Artist|RemoveArtist]] is not possible for an artist with any albums or [[Non-Album Tracks|NonAlbumTracks]] it's more of a system-enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to [[Merge Misspelled Artists|MergeMisspelledArtists]].  
+
This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since a [[Remove Artist Edit|RemoveArtistEdit]] is not possible for an artist with any releases, tracks or [[Non-Album Tracks|NonAlbumTracks]] it is more of a system-enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to [[Merge Misspelled Artists|MergeMisspelledArtists]].  
  
However, pay close attention to [[Delete Rather Than Merge|DeleteRatherThanMerge]] when dealing with common "feat artist" problem.  
+
However, pay close attention to [[Delete Rather Than Merge|DeleteRatherThanMerge]] when dealing with the common "feat artist" problem.  
 +
<ul><li style="list-style-type:none">And which problem would that be? --[[User:Keschte|Keschte]] 
 +
</ul>
  
 
[[Category:To Be Reviewed]] [[Category:Editing]] [[Category:Style]]
 
[[Category:To Be Reviewed]] [[Category:Editing]] [[Category:Style]]

Revision as of 15:09, 20 April 2006

Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums

It's usually best to enter MergeReleasesEdits to deal with DuplicateReleases instead of entering RemoveReleaseEdits.

Deleting releases has two kinds of bad effects on the database:

  • The UUIDs that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to MusicBrainz from other sites) will become invalid when the item is deleted. When merging it, however, the old UUIDs will forward to the new item. Note: Not yet implemented, see ticket 912
  • Even if there's no useful data (DiscIDs, TRMs, ReleaseEvents) attached to the release, it's possible that someone may AddTRMs, AddDiscID or EditAlbumReleases before your RemoveReleaseEdit is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost.

This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since a RemoveArtistEdit is not possible for an artist with any releases, tracks or NonAlbumTracks it is more of a system-enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to MergeMisspelledArtists.

However, pay close attention to DeleteRatherThanMerge when dealing with the common "feat artist" problem.

  • And which problem would that be? --Keschte