Difference between revisions of "Merge Rather Than Delete"

From MusicBrainz Wiki
((Imported from MoinMoin))
((Imported from MoinMoin))
Line 1: Line 1:
 
=Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums=
 
=Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums=
  
It's usually best to [[Merge Album|MergeAlbum]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s to deal with [[Duplicate Album|DuplicateAlbum]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s instead of doing a [[Remove Album|RemoveAlbum]].  
+
It's usually best to [[Merge Albums|MergeAlbums]] to deal with [[Duplicate Album|DuplicateAlbum]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s instead of doing a [[Remove Album|RemoveAlbum]].  
  
 
Deleting albums has two kinds of bad effects on the database:  
 
Deleting albums has two kinds of bad effects on the database:  

Revision as of 10:12, 9 March 2006

Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums

It's usually best to MergeAlbums to deal with DuplicateAlbums instead of doing a RemoveAlbum.

Deleting albums has two kinds of bad effects on the database:

  • The UUIDs that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to MusicBrainz from other sites) will become invalid when the item is deleted. When merging it, however, the old UUIDs will forward to the new item. Note: Not yet implemented, see ticket 912
  • Even if there's no useful data (DiscIDs, TRMs, Releases) attached to the album, it's possible that someone may AddTRMs, AddDiscID or EditAlbumReleases before your RemoveAlbum edit is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost.

This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since RemoveArtist is not possible for an artist with any albums or NonAlbumTracks it's more of a system-enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to MergeMisspelledArtists.