|(19 intermediate revisions by 9 users not shown)|
|−|=Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Releases= |+|
| || |
|−|It's usually best to enter [[ Merge Releases Edit| MergeReleasesEdit]] <code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s to deal with [[ Duplicate Release|DuplicateRelease]] <code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s instead of entering [[ Remove Release Edit| RemoveReleaseEdit]] <code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s. |+|
[[|]] to [] [[|]]
| || |
|−|Deleting releases has two kinds of bad effects on the database: |+|
, to [] , to the . [[|]] the , it that the will be .
|−|* The [[UUID]]s that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to [[ MusicBrainz]] from other sites) will become invalid when the item is deleted. When merging it, however, the old UUIDs will forward to the new item. '''Note:''' Not yet implemented, see ticket [[ Ticket:912|912]] | |
|−|* Even if there's no useful data ([ [Disc ID| DiscID]] s, [[TRM]]s, [[Release Event|ReleaseEvent]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s) attached to the release, it 's possible that someone may [[Add TR Ms|AddTRMs]], [[Add Disc ID|AddDiscID]] or [[Edit Album Releases|EditAlbumReleases]] before your [[Remove Release Edit|RemoveReleaseEdit]] is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost. | |
| || |
|−|This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since a [[Remove Artist Edit|RemoveArtistEdit]] is not possible for an artist with any releases, tracks or [[Non-Album Tracks|NonAlbumTracks]] it is more of a system- enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to [[Merge Misspelled Artists|MergeMisspelledArtists]]. |+|
, an with any , or it -.
| || |
|−|However, pay close attention to [[ Delete Rather Than Merge| DeleteRatherThanMerge]] when dealing with the common "feat artist" problem. |+|
, [[Merge |]]the .
|−|<ul><li style="list-style-type:none">And which problem would that be? --[[User:Keschte|Keschte]] | |
|−|</ul> | |
| || |
|−|[[Category:To Be Reviewed]] [[Category:Editing]] [[Category: Style]] |+|
It's usually best to merge duplicate entities (releases, release groups, recordings, etc.) instead of deleting them.
Deleting entities has two kinds of bad effects on the database:
- The MusicBrainz identifiers that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to MusicBrainz from other sites, etc.) will become invalid when the entity is deleted. When merging it, however, the old identifiers will forward to the entity it is merged into, so anyone clicking an old link or looking at their old tags will still be able to find the right entity.
- Even if there's no useful data attached to the entity when you enter the edit, it's possible that someone may enter it before your removal is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost. Additionally, other sites that use MusicBrainz data (anything from the BBC to Setlist.fm) might be using this identifier already, and deleting it will cause problems that merging it would avoid.
For similar reasons, it is better to merge misspelled artists into their correct names, instead of just moving their releases and/or recordings to the right artist and letting them be auto-removed. This also adds the misspelled version as an alias for the artist, which makes it less likely that the wrong name will be recreated as a separate artist in the future.
As a general principle, if you can solve an issue with any other way than a removal, you should avoid removing an entity (or leaving an empty entity behind for it to be auto-removed).
For instructions on how to merge releases, see this how-to. Most other entities can be merged in mostly the same way, by clicking Merge on all their sidebars and then picking the entity the rest should be merged into.