Merge Rather Than Delete
Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums
Deleting albums has two kinds of bad effects on the database:
- The UUIDs that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to MusicBrainz from other sites) will become invalid when the item is deleted. When merging it, however, the old UUIDs will forward to the new item. Note: Not yet implemented, see ticket 912
- Even if there's no useful data (DiscIDs, TRMs, Releases) attached to the album, it's possible that someone may AddTRMs, AddDiscID or EditAlbumReleases before your RemoveAlbum edit is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost.
This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since RemoveArtist is not possible for an artist with any albums or NonAlbumTracks it's more of a system-enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to MergeMisspelledArtists.
However, pay close attention to DeleteRatherThanMerge when dealing with common "feat artist" problem.