Difference between revisions of "Auto-Edit"

From MusicBrainz Wiki
Jump to navigationJump to search
((Imported from MoinMoin))
 
(info already listed under Edit (Imported from MoinMoin))
Line 1: Line 1:
An AutoEdit is an automatically approved edit ('''moderation''' in [[Bad Terminology|BadTerminology]]). Such an edit does not go to a vote: that is, the change is immediately applied, and the [[Edit]] is marked as approved (using an <small>Autoedit</small> notice). The [[Edit Type|EditType]] page details which edits are applied as AutoEdits. Basically, [[Edit Type|EditType]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s that do not result in a possible [[Loss Of Data|LossOfData]] are AutoEdit<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s for [[Auto-Editor|AutoEditor]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s (i.e. most edits apart from [[Remove Release Edit|RemoveReleaseEdit]], [[Merge Releases Edit|MergeReleasesEdit]], [[Merge Artists Edit|MergeArtistsEdit]] etc.)
+
An AutoEdit is an automatically approved edit. Such an edit does not go to a vote: that is, the change is immediately applied, and the [[Edit]] is marked as approved (using an <small>Autoedit</small> notice). The [[Edit Type|EditType]] page details which edits are applied as AutoEdits. Basically, [[Edit Type|EditType]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s that do not result in a possible [[Loss Of Data|LossOfData]] are AutoEdit<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s for [[Auto-Editor|AutoEditor]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s (i.e. most edits apart from [[Remove Release Edit|RemoveReleaseEdit]], [[Merge Releases Edit|MergeReleasesEdit]], [[Merge Artists Edit|MergeArtistsEdit]] etc.)
   
 
The only Edits which are automatically applied for users with normal priviledges are:
 
The only Edits which are automatically applied for users with normal priviledges are:

Revision as of 13:21, 29 June 2006

An AutoEdit is an automatically approved edit. Such an edit does not go to a vote: that is, the change is immediately applied, and the Edit is marked as approved (using an Autoedit notice). The EditType page details which edits are applied as AutoEdits. Basically, EditTypes that do not result in a possible LossOfData are AutoEdits for AutoEditors (i.e. most edits apart from RemoveReleaseEdit, MergeReleasesEdit, MergeArtistsEdit etc.)

The only Edits which are automatically applied for users with normal priviledges are:

While it may seem surprising that RemoveArtistEdit is an AutoEdit, MusicBrainz only allows artists with no releases, relationships and NonAlbumTracks associated with them to be removed, so the only data that might be lost are the artist name and sortname, and its aliases.