Difference between revisions of "Merge Rather Than Delete"

From MusicBrainz Wiki
(DuplicateAlbums -> DuplicateAlbum``s (Imported from MoinMoin))
 
(29 intermediate revisions by 13 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
=Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums=
+
'''It's usually best to [[merge]] duplicate entities (releases, release groups, recordings, etc.) instead of deleting them'''.
  
It's usually best to [[Merge Albums|MergeAlbums]] to deal with [[Duplicate Album|DuplicateAlbum]]<code><nowiki></nowiki></code>s instead of doing a [[Remove Album|RemoveAlbum]].  
+
Deleting [[MusicBrainz_Entity|entities]] has two kinds of bad effects on the database:
 +
* The [[MusicBrainz Identifier|MusicBrainz identifiers]] that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to [[MusicBrainz]] from other sites, etc.) will become invalid when the entity is deleted. When merging it, however, the old [[MusicBrainz Identifier|identifiers]] will forward to the entity it is merged into, so anyone clicking an old link or looking at their old tags will still be able to find the right entity.
 +
* Even if there's no useful data attached to the entity when you enter the edit, it's possible that someone may enter it before your removal is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost. Additionally, other sites that use MusicBrainz data (anything from the BBC to Setlist.fm) might be using this identifier already, and deleting it will cause problems that merging it would avoid.
  
Even if there's no useful data (DiscIDs, [[TRM]]s, Releases) attached to the album, it's possible that someone may [[Add TR Ms|AddTRMs]], AddDiscID or [[Edit Album Releases|EditAlbumReleases]] before your [[Remove Album|RemoveAlbum]] edit is approved.  If so, the recently added data will be lost.  
+
For similar reasons, it is better to merge misspelled [[Artist|artists]] into their correct names, instead of just moving their releases and/or recordings to the right artist and letting them be auto-removed. This also adds the misspelled version as an [[Artist Alias|alias]] for the artist, which makes it less likely that the wrong name will be recreated as a separate artist in the future.
  
This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since [[Remove Artist|RemoveArtist]] is not possible for an artist with any albums or [[Non-Album Tracks|NonAlbumTracks]] it's more of a system-enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to [[Merge Misspelled Artists|MergeMisspelledArtists]].  
+
As a general principle, if you can solve an issue with any other way than a removal, you should avoid removing an entity (or leaving an empty entity behind for it to be auto-removed).
[[Category:To Be Reviewed]] [[Category:Editing]]
+
 
 +
For instructions on how to merge releases, see [[How to Merge Releases|this how-to]]. Most other entities can be merged in mostly the same way, by clicking Merge on all their sidebars and then picking the entity the rest should be merged into.
 +
 
 +
[[Category:Editing]] [[Category:WikiDocs Page]]

Latest revision as of 16:16, 21 October 2019

It's usually best to merge duplicate entities (releases, release groups, recordings, etc.) instead of deleting them.

Deleting entities has two kinds of bad effects on the database:

  • The MusicBrainz identifiers that have been referenced anywhere (tagged files, links to MusicBrainz from other sites, etc.) will become invalid when the entity is deleted. When merging it, however, the old identifiers will forward to the entity it is merged into, so anyone clicking an old link or looking at their old tags will still be able to find the right entity.
  • Even if there's no useful data attached to the entity when you enter the edit, it's possible that someone may enter it before your removal is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost. Additionally, other sites that use MusicBrainz data (anything from the BBC to Setlist.fm) might be using this identifier already, and deleting it will cause problems that merging it would avoid.

For similar reasons, it is better to merge misspelled artists into their correct names, instead of just moving their releases and/or recordings to the right artist and letting them be auto-removed. This also adds the misspelled version as an alias for the artist, which makes it less likely that the wrong name will be recreated as a separate artist in the future.

As a general principle, if you can solve an issue with any other way than a removal, you should avoid removing an entity (or leaving an empty entity behind for it to be auto-removed).

For instructions on how to merge releases, see this how-to. Most other entities can be merged in mostly the same way, by clicking Merge on all their sidebars and then picking the entity the rest should be merged into.