Merge Rather Than Delete
Merge Rather than Delete Duplicate Albums
Even if there's no useful data (DiscIDs, TRMs, Releases) attached to the album, it's possible that someone may AddTRMs, AddDiscID or EditAlbumReleases before your RemoveAlbum edit is approved. If so, the recently added data will be lost.
This MergeRatherThanDelete guideline also applies to artists, but since RemoveArtist is not possible for an artist with any albums or NonAlbumTracks it's more of a system-enforced rule than a guideline. An analogous guideline is to MergeMisspelledArtists.