Difference between revisions of "How to Cancel an Edit"

From MusicBrainz Wiki
(screenshots coming soon)
 
Line 7: Line 7:
 
If you submit an edit and then realize that it was incorrect, the easiest solution is often to cancel the edit and start over.  
 
If you submit an edit and then realize that it was incorrect, the easiest solution is often to cancel the edit and start over.  
  
On the other hand, there are times when a series of edits depend are inter-dependent. In this case, cancelling may not be an option.
+
On the other hand, there are times when a series of edits depend are inter-dependent. If cancelling is not a good option, you should enter a new edit to correct the old one.
  
 
If you're not sure whether cancelling is appropriate, [[Contact_Us|ask]].
 
If you're not sure whether cancelling is appropriate, [[Contact_Us|ask]].
Line 15: Line 15:
 
When viewing your own open (unapplied) edits, you will see a button at the right side of the screen, <code>Cancel edit</code>.  
 
When viewing your own open (unapplied) edits, you will see a button at the right side of the screen, <code>Cancel edit</code>.  
 
# Click the button
 
# Click the button
# Enter an edit note explaining why you're cancelling, and  
+
# Enter an [[Edit_Note|edit note]] explaining why you're cancelling, and  
 
# Click <code>Cancel edit</code> again to confirm
 
# Click <code>Cancel edit</code> again to confirm
  

Revision as of 21:43, 19 May 2015

What

If an edit has not yet been applied, the editor who submitted that edit can cancel it.

When

If you submit an edit and then realize that it was incorrect, the easiest solution is often to cancel the edit and start over.

On the other hand, there are times when a series of edits depend are inter-dependent. If cancelling is not a good option, you should enter a new edit to correct the old one.

If you're not sure whether cancelling is appropriate, ask.

How

When viewing your own open (unapplied) edits, you will see a button at the right side of the screen, Cancel edit.

  1. Click the button
  2. Enter an edit note explaining why you're cancelling, and
  3. Click Cancel edit again to confirm

Where

There are several places to find your open edits, including:

  • From your profile page, click the Open edits tab
  • In the edit history for a particular entity
    • Click the Edit history link in the right sidebar
  • Using the edit search page
How-To Pages
Introductory Guides
Basic How-Tos
Specific How-Tos